Which MTB to Choose

We stock a full range of MTBs, the above chart helps in deciding what type of bike fits your need the best. By browsing by brand and then category you can select the best products for your needs.

X Country

Cross-Country (XC) is the most popular form of mountain biking, and the standard for most riders. It generally means riding point-to-point or in a loop including climbs and descents on a variety of terrain. A typical XC bike weighs around 9-13 kilos (20-30 lbs), and has 90-120 millimetres of suspension travel front and sometimes rear.

All Mountain
All-mountain (AM) bike category typically provides 120-140 millimetres of rear and front suspension travel and stronger components than XC models, while still providing overall weight suitable for climbing and descending on a variety of terrain.

Enduro
Enduro (ND) is the competitive side of mountain biking, focusing on terrain that is technically demanding, generally descending. A typical enduro bike is 11-14 kg and has a 150-180 millimetre traveller.


Freeride
Freeride is a "do anything" discipline that encompasses everything from light downhill racing and generally riding trails and/or stunts that require more skill and aggressive techniques than XC. Freeride bikes are generally heavier and more amply suspended than their XC counterparts, but usually retain some of their climbing ability. A "typical" freeride bike is hard to define, but 13-18 kilos with 160 - 180 millimeters of suspension front and rear.

Downhill
Often located in ski resorts at summer time Downhill (or DH for short) usually refers to racing-oriented downhill riding. Downhill-specific bikes are universally equipped with front and rear suspension, large disc brakes, and use heavier frame tubing than other mountain bikes. Because of their extremely steep terrain, downhill courses are one of the most extreme and dangerous venues for mountain biking. Downhill bikes now weigh around 16-20 kilos. Downhill frames get anywhere from 180-230 millimetres of travel and are usually mounted with a 200 millimetre travel dual-crown fork.

Dirt bikes
Dirt bikes are for stunts and jumps. Dirt jumping can be done on almost anything but the bikes are generally smaller and more manoeuvrable hardtails so that tricks e.g. backflips, are easier to complete. The bikes are simpler so that when a crash occurs there are fewer components to break or cause the rider injury.

Quel VTT choisir

Nous avons en stock un vaste choix de VTT, le tableau ci-dessus vous aidera à choisir quel type de vélo vous conviend le mieux. En Navigant parmis nos marques, puis dans les différentes catégories, vous pourrez faire votre choix.

Cross-country
Le Cross-country est la forme la plus populaire de mountain bike, et le standard pour la plupart des pratiquants. Celà veut dire généralement aller d’un point à un autre ou faire des parcours en boucle, comprenant des montées et des descentes sur des terrains variés. Un vélo type de Cross-country pèse entre 9 et 13 Kg, et a 90 à 120 mm de débattement.

All Mountain
Les vélos de type All-mountain (AM) offrent un débattement de 120-140 mm et sont d’une conception plus robuste que les Cross-country, tout en gardant un poids raisonnable , vous permettant de grimper facilement et de descendre en toute sécurité sur tous types de terrains.

Enduro
L’Enduro est une version plus engagée de la pratique du Mountain bike, se pratiquant sur des terrains très techniques, avec une majorité de descentes. Un vélo typique d’Enduro pèse de 11 à 14 Kg et a de 150 à 180 mm de débattement.



Freeride
Le Freeride est une discipline qui englobe tout : de la descente, du chemin, des sauts et requière des aptitudes plus techniques que le Cross-Country. Les vélos de Freeride sont généralement plus lourds et mieux équipés en suspensions que les modèles d’Enduro, mais restent agiles en montées. Un vélo de type Freeride est difficile à définir, mais il pèse entre 13 et 18 Kg avec 160 à 180 mm de débattement.

Descente
La descente (ou DH) se réfère généralement à la pratique en compétition. Les vélos spécifiques de descente sont toujours équipés de suspensions avant et arrière, de gros freins à disques et de cadres plus renforcés que les autres VTT. Du fait de leur profil très pentu, (généralement situées dans les stations de ski durant l’été), les pistes de descente peuvent se révéler extrêmes voir dangereuses pour les non initiés.

Les vélos de descente pèsent de 16-20 kilos pour un débattement de 180 – 230 mm à l’arrière et 200mm à l’avant.

Dirt
Les vélos de dirt sont conçus pour les sauts. Les sauts en Dirt peuvent être exécutés sur tous les types de bosses mais les vélos sont généralement plus petits (cadre) et plus maniables avec un arrière rigide de manière à faciliter les rotations.
Ils ont un équipement rudimentaire qui en cas de chute résistera aux chocs